It’s in the air we breathe. It’s found in the arctic ice and the remotest parts of the deep sea. It’s proven to be in our foods: honey, water, salt, beer. And it is located in our bodies: Microplastic – tiny toxic plastic particles (<5mm) that continuously break into smaller pieces and pass cell membranes and the blood brain barrier. It’s one of the biggest environmental problems of our time.

Once in the environment, the tiny plastic pieces accumulate pollutants such as heavy metals. They are consumed by aquatic organisms, resulting in infections, reproductive problems, and starvation – problems that work their way up the food chain. Indications that microplastics not only harm nature, but also humans are overwhelming.

Microplastics can not only be found in aquatic systems. They are also in the air and within the soil. Moreover, dust and dirt in our homes consist of up to 90% microplastics. These particles accumulate in cleaning water, are emptied unfiltered into sink or toilette and end up in nature.

Larger plastic pieces, such as packaging, which somehow end up in nature, degrade into smaller pieces and become microplastic over time. Around 50% of the plastic produced worldwide is used only once and thrown away. Bags, cutlery, straws, takeaway cups etc. are often only used for minutes, but pollute our environment for decades and even centuries. It’s urgent to avoid single use plastic whenever possible. The rest needs to be collected and recycled. So far, this hasn’t been achieved, as can be seen on any given beach or city.

Where does it come from?

Synthetic Textiles
Boats and Fishnets
City and House Dust
Cosmetics / Microbeads
Industrial Pellet Loss
Roadmarking/ Abrasion

Source: IUCN

DONATE

Es gibt keinen Ort auf der Erde ohne die winzigen Plastikpartikel (<5mm): Sie bahnen sich den Weg ins Eis der Arktis und in die entlegensten Tiefen der Tiefsee. Sie sind in unserer Nahrung nachweisbar. In Honig, Wasser, Salz, Bier und in unseren Körpern. Es gibt noch keinen wissenschaftlich Beleg über die negativen Auswirkungen des Mikroplastiks auf unsere Gesundheit. Die Indikatoren jedoch sind überwältigend: Wir schaden nicht nur der Natur, sondern auch uns selbst.

Mikroplastikpartikel gelangen in Flüsse und Meere und lagern Giftstoffe an. Sie werden von Fischen und anderen Meeresbewohnern aufgenommen, die das winzige Plastik nicht von ihrer eigentlichen Nahrung unterscheiden können. So gelangen Plastik und Giftstoffe auf unsere Teller und letztendlich in unsere Körper.

Mikroplastikpartikel befinden sich nicht nur in Gewässern, sondern auch im Boden und in der Luft. Staub und Schmutz in unseren Wohnungen bestehen daher aus bis zu 90% aus Plastik. Diese Partikel sammeln sich beim Putzen im Schmutzwasser an, werden ungefiltert in Waschbecken oder Toiletten entleert und landen so in der Natur.

Größere Kunststoffteile, wie z.B. Verpackungen, die in der Natur landen, zerfallen mit der Zeit zu Mikroplastik. Rund 50% des weltweit produzierten Kunststoffs wird nur einmal verwendet und dann entsorgt. Taschen, Besteck, Strohhalme, Takeaway-Becher usw. werden oft nur für Minuten verwendet, belasten aber unsere Umwelt über Jahrzehnte und sogar Jahrhunderte. Es ist dringend notwendig, Einweg-Plastik zu vermeiden wann immer es möglich ist. Der Rest muss gesammelt und recycelt werden. Bislang ist dies nicht gelungen, wie man an Stränden und in Städten weltweit sehen kann.

Woher kommt das Mikroplastik?

Synthetische Textilien
Boote und Fischernetze
Stadt- und Hausstaub
Kosmetik / Microbeads
Pellet Verlust
Straßenmarkierung/ Abrieb

Quelle: IUCN

SPENDEN